Linda Jones Memorial Award


The award honours Linda Jones, for significant service to the Canadian Land Reclamation Association / Association Canadienne de Réhabilitation des Sites Dégradés (CLRA/ACRSD) as secretary-treasurer for over twenty years. Linda was specifically interested in promoting student participation in CLRA events and membership in CLRA.

Two awards are presented annually to students in a reclamation related program at a Canadian institution in recognition of excellence in academic studies which advance the theory, knowledge or practice of land reclamation. One award will be for a poster presentation and one for an oral presentation. Each award will be for $1000 and a one-year membership in the CLRA.

The competition for the awards is held in conjunction with the CLRA/ACRSD Annual Meeting.


  • Students must be in a land reclamation related program, including but not limited to agriculture, biology, botany, environmental science, environmental studies, engineering, forestry, geography, land reclamation, landscape architecture, mining, plant science, soil science at a post secondary Canadian educational institution.

  • Students may be in an undergraduate program, or a graduate program (MSc, PhD).

  • The recipients must accept the award in person at the CLRA/ACRSD Annual Meeting for the year in which the award is presented.

Application Procedures

  • Each student must apply to participate in the poster and oral presentation competitions by sending an application form to the chair of the CLRA Awards Committee.

  • Students and their supervisors or instructors must sign the application form indicating all information on the application is correct.

  • In fairness to all participants, applications must be complete, conform to a specific format and be received by the application deadline.

  • The application must be prepared according to the format presented in the following section and emailed to the CLRA/ACRSD Awards Committee Chair at least six weeks prior to the Annual General Meeting. The deadline for nominations will be posted each year on the CLRA/ACRSD website as soon as the date of the annual meeting has been set.

Selection of Award Recipients

The Linda Jones Award Committee consists of a chair (Awards Committee Chair of the CLRA/ACRSD, currently Kevin Hunsche) and a minimum of three judges.

2018 Deadline: October 10, 2018

2018 Application Requirements & Presentation Evaluation

Please email info@clra.ca to inquire

2017 Award Recipient Bio

Jennifer Buss, B.Sc.

Jennifer Buss has completed her B.Sc. in Environmental Conservation Sciences in December 2016. During the course of an internship with Canadian Forest Service, she authored "Growth and competition among understory plants varies with reclamation soil and fertilization" which she anticipates publishing this year along with Kyle Stratechuk and Brad Pinno. She is looking forward to beginning her Master's in Land Reclamation in January. 

Jennifer Buss.jpg