AGM & Conference


Alberta Hosts 2017 National AGM in Fort McMurray

Cheryl Hendrickson, Director, Alberta Chapter

The Alberta Chapter of the CLRA proudly showcased reclamation work in their province to National members by hosting the National AGM in concert with the Alberta Fall Field Tour, this year held in Fort McMurray, AB, September 18-21, 2017. The conference workshop and field tour focused on reclamation and restoration of oil sands mining areas.

Participants shirked off the cold Alberta rain to troop out to the reclamation areas of CNRL and Syncrude, although the second day of rain did not allow access to the lineup of site visits scheduled by Syncrude. Instead the group was able see most of the sites from nearby paved roads, and was treated to informative presentations by Syncrude representatives.

This year's award recipients were honoured for their work and contribution to reclamation in Alberta. Gordon Dinwoodie, Land Reclamation Policy Specialist with Alberta Environment and Parks, received the Dr. Edward M. Watkin Award. Jennifer Buss, who completed her reclamation-focussed BSc in Environmental Conservation Sciences received the Linda Jones Memorial Award; and Bruce Anderson, who led reclamation at Suncor over his 30-year career, received the Noranda Award.

As at all Alberta CLRA events, teachings of all kinds, through presentations, field tours and the many networking opportunities, meeting of new and old friends and colleagues, was supported by delicious fare and great venues.


Past AGM & Conference


If you or your company are involved with or interested in reclamation of land or watercourses, environmental guidelines and/or enforcement, decommissioning, research (products, methods or equipment), or education, consider becoming a member of Canada's only national association concerned solely with reclamation.

2017 Conference Commitee

Andrea McEachern
Calgary, AB

Fannie DesRosiers
Calgary, AB

Alberta Chapter President
Marissa Reckmann
Calgary, AB

Elise Faryna
Calgary, AB

National Awards Chair
Kevin Hunsche
Sherwood Park, AB

Program Chair
Maria Kudienko
Calgary, AB

Sponsorship Chair
Chad Hohol
Calgary, AB

Venue Chair
Kelly Zadko
Edmonton, AB


Thank you 2017