2017 CLRA National AGM & Conference hosted by the Alberta Chapter in Fort McMurray

Road to Recovery.png

Alberta Hosts National AGM in Fort McMurray

Fort McMurray, AB | September 18-21, 2017

The Alberta Chapter  of the CLRA proudly showcased reclamation work in their province to National members by hosting the National AGM in concert with the Alberta Fall Field Tour, this year held in Fort McMurray, AB, September 18-21, 2017. The conference workshop and field tour focussed on reclamation and restoration of oilsands mining areas.

Participants shirked off the cold Alberta rain to troop out to the reclamation areas of CNRL and Syncrude, although the second day of rain did not allow access to the lineup of site visits scheduled by Syncrude. Instead the group was able see most of the sites from nearby paved roads, and was treated to informative presentations by Syncrude representatives.
This year's award recipients were honoured for their work and contribution to reclamation in Alberta. Gordon Dinwoodie, Land Reclamation Policy Specialist with Alberta Environment and Parks,  received the Watkins Award. Jennifer Buss, who completed her reclamation-focussed BSc in Environmental Conservation Sciences received the  Linda Jones Memorial Award; and Bruce Anderson, who led reclamation at Suncor over his 30 year career,  received the Noranda Award.

As at all Alberta CLRA events, teachings of all kinds, through presentations, field tours and the many networking opportunities, meeting of new and old friends and colleagues, was supported by delicious fare and great venues.

Cheryl Hendrickson, Director, Alberta Chapter

2017 Award Recipient


Gordon Dinwoodie.jpg

Dr. Edward M. Watkin Award

Gordon Dinwoodie, B.Sc., M.Sc.

Gordon Dinwoodie is a Land Reclamation Policy Specialist with Alberta Environment and Parks.  He has a B.Sc. (Agronomy) and M.Sc. (Soil Science) from the University of Alberta. Gordon works in the Land Conservation and Reclamation Policy group developing policies for land reclamation and remediation, and land application of industrial and municipal by-products.

Bruce Anderson.jpg

Noranda Land Reclamation Award


Bruce graduated from high school in Fort McMurray and received a B Sc. in Mining Engineering from the University of Alberta.

He joined Suncor Energy in Fort McMurray after graduation. Bruce held a number of roles, including three-year assignment to the Stuart Oil Shale Project in Queensland, Australia. It was in Australia that Bruce had his first significant exposure to mine reclamation (or rehabilitation as they call it). On returning to Suncor in Fort McMurray he led the newly-formed Closure Planning and Reclamation team. Some of the accomplishments of the team include over doubling the amount of reclamation at the Oil Sands base mine, reclamation of the first tailings pond in the oil sands, and the establishment of one of the first fens in oil sands reclamation.

Bruce was active in the Cumulative Environmental Management Association, chairing the Reclamation Working group for several years; co-chaired the Mining Association of Canada’s Toward Sustainable Mine Closure Working Group, and was an active member of the joint Government-Industry committee that developed the Mine Financial Security Program. Bruce has now entered the second part of his career, having retired from Suncor Energy after over 30 years this past June.

Jennifer Buss.jpg

Linda Jones Memorial Award


Jennifer Buss has completed her B.Sc. in Environmental Conservation Sciences in December 2016. During the course of an internship with Canadian Forest Service, she authored "Growth and competition among understory plants varies with reclamation soil and fertilization" which she anticipates publishing this year along with Kyle Stratechuk and Brad Pinno. She is looking forward to beginning her Master's in Land Reclamation in January..