Noranda Land Reclamation Award


The Noranda Land Reclamation Award is the most prestigious award of the Canadian Land Reclamation Association / Association Canadienne de Réhabilitation des Sites Dégradés (CLRA/ACRSD). It was named after Noranda Mines Ltd., a mining and metallurgy company originally from Rouyn-Noranda, Quebec. Noranda Mines Ltd. first developed the award and provided initial monetary support for it.

The award is presented in recognition of outstanding contributions of the nominee in the areas of professional practice, teaching, research and/or regulatory development as they relate to the profession of land reclamation in Canada. Nominees should be widely recognized for their contributions in the field of land reclamation, preferably with a national or international reputation. The contributions of the nominees must span a significant portion of their career. The award will only be presented to an individual person.
For the purpose of this award, the word reclamation will include facets of research, planning, developing, implementing, executing and teaching programs to establish conditions on disturbed or stressed land that will make the land useful.


  • Nominators must be members of CLRA/ACRSD in good standing (dues paid) at the time of the nomination.

  • Nominees will be considered for their contributions to land reclamation in Canada and may or may not be members of the CLRA/ACRSD; contributions to the CLRA/ACRSD will be an asset but not sufficient alone for eligibility.

  • The nominee must have been involved in land reclamation for a minimum of ten years at the time of the nomination.

  • The CLRA/ACRSD President, Vice-President and members of the Noranda Award Selection Committee are not eligible to be nominated or submit nominations during their term of office.

  • The recipient must accept the award in person at the CLRA/ACRSD Annual Meeting for the year in which the award is presented.


Preparation of the best nomination possible for a colleague is a compliment to both the nominee and the nominators. The Noranda Award Selection Committee members may not be familiar with the qualifications of the nominees and, therefore, their evaluation and decision must be based upon the information presented in the nomination.

Three nominators are required for the nomination. Each nominator must sign the nomination letter. Electronic signatures are acceptable if needed to meet the deadline for nominations. However, original signatures must be sent to the CLRA/ACRSD Awards Committee chair for the official records within two weeks of the nomination deadline.

In fairness to all nominees, submissions must be complete and conform to a specific format. The nominators may seek the assistance of the nominee in supplying background information for use in preparing the nomination. This will help to ensure accurate, quality nominations. The clear identification and detailed description of the nominee's contributions and achievements is the most important part of the nomination.

The nomination must be prepared according to the format presented in the following section. Each nomination must contain a cover page, documentation to support the nomination, justification for the nomination and one copy of each of the signed supporting letters. 

One electronic copy of the completed nomination must be emailed to the CLRA/ACRSD Awards Committee Chair at least three months prior to the Annual General Meeting. The deadline for nominations will be posted each year on the CLRA/ACRSD website as soon as the date of the annual meeting has been set.


The Noranda Award Selection Committee consists of a chair (Awards Committee Chair of the CLRA/ACRSD, currently Kevin Hunsche), representatives from three CLRA/ACRSD chapters and two previous Noranda Award Recipients. None of these individuals can either make nominations or submit letters of recommendation.

One award will be given per year.

Nominations that do not meet all of the criteria or format requirements will not be considered. Nominations that exceed the size limitations or are not received by the deadline will not be considered to ensure fair and equitable evaluation of the nominations.

2019 Deadline: August 1, 2019

2019 Nomination Submission Requirements

Please email info@clra.ca to inquire.