Dr. Edward M. Watkin Award


The Dr. Edward M. Watkin Award is named after a founding member of the Canadian Land Reclamation Association / Association Canadienne de Réhabilitation des Sites Dégradés (CLRA/ACRSD) in recognition of his significant service to furthering land reclamation in Canada.

The award is presented in recognition of major contributions of the nominee to land reclamation, especially through service to foster advances in regulation, reclamation success or development of personnel or students. The efforts for which the individual is nominated do not need to span a major portion of the recipient’s career, and may be project focused. A recipient may have made major contributions to CLRA/ACRSD, which has led to the advancement of the association. The recipient may be an individual or agency, institution or company.

For the purpose of this award, the word reclamation will include facets of research, planning, developing, implementing, executing and teaching programs to establish conditions on disturbed or stressed land that will make the land useful.


  • Nominators must be members of CLRA/ACRSD in good standing (dues paid) at the time of the nomination.

  • Nominees will be considered for either their contributions to land reclamation in Canada or their contributions to the CLRA/ACRSD and may or may not be members of the CLRA/ACRSD. Individuals, companies, industrial associations, colleges, universities or departments thereof, are eligible for nomination.

  • The CLRA/ACRSD President, Vice-President and members of the Watkin Award Selection Committee are not eligible to be nominated or submit nominations during their term of office.

  • The recipient must accept the award in person at the CLRA/ACRSD Annual Meeting for the year in which the award is presented.


Preparation of the best nomination possible for a colleague is a compliment to both the nominee and the nominator. The Watkin Award Selection Committee members may not be familiar with the qualifications of the nominees and, therefore, their evaluation and decision must be based upon the information presented in the nomination.

One nominator is required for the nomination. The nominator must sign the nomination letter. Electronic signatures are acceptable if needed to meet the deadline for nominations. However, an original signature must be sent to the CLRA/ACRSD Awards Committee chair for the official records within two weeks of the nomination deadline.

In fairness to all nominees, submissions must be complete and conform to a specific format. The nominator may seek the assistance of the nominee in supplying background information for use in preparing the nomination. This will help to ensure accurate, quality nominations. The clear identification and detailed description of the nominee's contributions and achievements is the most important part of the nomination.

The nomination must be prepared according to the format presented in the following section. Each nomination must contain a cover page, documentation to support the nomination, justification for the nomination and one copy of each of the signed supporting letters. 

One electronic copy of the completed nomination must be emailed to the CLRA/ACRSD Awards Committee Chair at least three months prior to the Annual General Meeting. The deadline for nominations will be posted each year on the CLRA/ACRSD website as soon as the date of the annual meeting has been set.


The Watkin Award Selection Committee consists of a chair (Awards Committee Chair of the CLRA/ACRSD, currently Kevin Hunsche), representatives from two CLRA chapters and two previous Watkin Award Recipients. None of these individuals can either make nominations or submit letters of recommendation.

One award will be given per year.

Nominations that do not meet all of the criteria or format requirements will not be considered. Nominations that exceed the size limitations or are not received by the deadline will not be considered to ensure fair and equitable evaluation of the nominations.

2019 Deadline: August 1, 2019

2019 Nomination Submission Requirements

Please email info@clra.ca to inquire.